Common Core State Standards


Common Core

The Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts include Foundational Skills for Reading.  These standards are directed toward fostering students’ understanding and working knowledge of concepts of print and the alphabetic principle.  These foundational skills are necessary for students to develop into successful and lifelong readers.  The Kindergarten and 1st grade Reading Foundational Skills include Phonological Awareness Standards, focusing our students’ learning on demonstrating an understanding of spoken words, syllables, and phonemes (CCSS.ELA-LITERACY.RF.K.2). 

Dr. Heggerty’s Phonemic Awareness curriculum is aligned to these standards, and provides repeated practice for students with these specific skills, allowing teachers multiple opportunities to measure student progress.  The weekly lesson plans included in the Kindergarten and primary curriculum also include activities incorporating additional phonological awareness skills that go beyond the expectations of Common Core. 

Literacy Resources, Inc. has created an alignment grid using the Kindergarten curriculum and the Primary curriculum, to assist teachers and administrators in determining the individual lessons that match the Common Core Reading Foundational Skills. 

For more information about the Common Core State Standards, please visit:


Literacy Resources, Inc.

Literacy Resources, Inc. (LRI) is committed to instilling a love of all aspects of literacy and life-long learning! Our goal is to provide educators with resources and knowledge regarding the importance of a solid literacy curriculum, appropriately scaffolded for student achievement and success.

Find Your Curriculum

close (X)